Fungus And Salt

Guest MelVin

Guest MelVin

I recently setup a 45g tank, amonia 0 , nitrites0.5 , nitrates 10. I have 2 bala sharks, 2 gourami's ( not sure what type think they are neon blue), and 5 platies.

I noticed that one of the gourami's has a very small amount of fungus on her right side. I gave the fish a salt dip yesterday as I read that salt can cure fungus(used coarse kosher salt desolved before added) in a 1 gallon bucket. 3 tsp of salt 10 mins . when I was taking a close look at the fish with a lamp over head she jump out and hit the light. she's fine though :D . I returned her to the tank and she was moving around fine.

Now today the fungus is still there. I'm not sure if I should continue giving the fish salt dips, and if so how often? Or should I give it a salt bath? what is the difference? I'm new to this and really don't want to hurt the fish, Any advice would be appriciated, THX in advance.

the tank has been set up for about 6 weeks. But I was given 12 sick fancy goldfish with the tank, sad to say I could not save then. they already had heavy ick infestation and fin rot so bad 6 had no tails.

Since they passed I swapped out 90 %+ of the water and started again with only the 5 platies, they are all doing fine, so are the bala's .But one gourami is havin a bit of a prob with the fungus but thats why I posted.

anyway glad to be hear hope someone can help :)

oh I should add I gave the fish another salt dip and returned it to the tank, I am just not sure if the bala sharks can handle the salt or I would treat the entire tank with salt.

melvin. i'm waitin for someone else to come along because i personally haven't dealt w/ fungus (knocking on wood) and i don't like to comment on what i haven't dealt w/ .