Bonding With Your Babies

Guest PetalFlower

Guest PetalFlower

I was wondering if anyone could tell me - how do you get your fish to eat out of your hand? :huh:

Do you just hold a piece of food in your fingers, stick your whole hand in the tank? I'm a newbie and totally cluless :newfish , but I want to get to the point where I can handle my fish and they eat out of my hands. Any advice?

If you're around them alot, they'll get used to you. When all my goldies were in the 10 gal, I rearranged the tank every week. Now that they're in the 29 gal, I can put my hand in and they SWARM! I haven't gotten that far with Cracker yet. She's still too tiny for me to comfortably handle.

For me it was a gradual process.

Hope that helped some!

Guest PetalFlower

How long has it taken for them to come to you like that. I'm only 3.5 weeks in and I spend a lot of time everyday tending to them, moving stuff around, changing water of course. They come to the front of the tank when I walk up, but they swim away from my hands.

I've had my commons (and Glenn) for four or five months. It only took a month or two of rearranging for them to get used to me. It might've had something ot do with the tiny tank they were in. (11 goldies in a 10 gal) It only took them a month or three. i don't remember exactly.

Not to sound discouraging, but it took me the better part of a year to get my goldie to eat out of my hand. He was just a little bunch of fearfullness for the longest time and didn't trust people one bit. It can take a while with some fish, so don't get discouraged if a few weeks go by with not much change. Eventually they will get used to you and trust you (though I doubt it'll take a year...that was just absurd!). Some fish are very slow to warm up, others will happily take the food--and your fingers and your hand and your arm--at the first opportunity. Try using foods that give off an odor, or being a little late at feeding time one day. Hungrier fish are more likely to be bold.