Nitrate Testing Headaches

Guest Fab

My daughter's goldfish, Dennis, is doing fine in his established 10 gallon tank, but I'm having headaches testing for nitrates.

First off, I'm using the Aquarium Pharmaceuticals testing kit. The test is alright, but frankly I'm having a devil of a time deciding between the colors. It's like the card is yellow for 0 ppm, orange-yellow for 5 ppm, orange for 10 ppm, then red for 20, red for 40, red for 80, and red for 160. Well, maybe that's exaggerating, but let's call it orangish-red, reddish-orange, red, dark red, and darker red. I'm not color blind, and I'm a bit of an artist, so I have an eye for color, yet this test stumps me.

I used to do a 25% water change every week, and he's living in the 10 gallon tank all by himself. I highly doubt he'd have very high levels of nitrates but each week I test and he comes up somewhere between 40 ppm and 100 ppm (again, based on my inability to read the stupid card). Due to the (possibly) high readings on the nitrate test, I've upped it to a 50% change each week and still he's showing up in the 40-100 ppm range! I'm guessing his nitrates are okay as, again he's by himself and I change half his water and vac his gravel every weekend.

So I have three questions:

1) Is it likely that his nitrates are in the 40-60 ppm range given the above scenario? I would think even without a test that such a large water change every week should take care of the situation.

2) Does anyone make an electronic tester of some sort? I'd pay good money if I could press a button, put a probe in the water, wait 30 seconds, and pull it out and have a digital readout down to a decimal place or two. Is this sort of test even possible to do by that method? I'm not a chemist, so I don't know if this is even possible.