Spiraling Comet

Guest Rookiefish

Guest Rookiefish

Help! My daughters comet is suddenly unable to swim straight. He spirals left, and swims upside down also. He can stay upright if he braces against something. This was very sudden onset (12hrs). We have had him for 9 months with no problems. Although I realize I've been lucky based on the information I gathered here in just the last 1/2 hour. I don't have any testing equipment, we have him in a simple "kid set up" 2.5 gallons (I'm feeling guilty already) and he eats the basic flakes. I'm actually a Vet Tech, and I feel terrible I didn't realize his needs. Is there anything I can do until I can get a test kit? I did a 30 % water change this am.

Hi there and :welcome

Perform another water change ASAP. Make well and sure to use dechlorinated, temperature matched water. 50% now and then 50% within 12 hours.

Ok, off the top, I think you are beginning to see the need for test kits. A much larger tank would be great but that can be worked on. For now, I think it would be wise to invest in a set of dropper style test kits. You'll need ammonia, nitrIte, nitrAte and pH.

Can you get yourself a printed copy of your local water supplies chemical analysis? You can get it for free, by law, upon request. You might even be able to find it online. In the very least, we need to know what the KH of your tapwater is so, if you can, get a test kit for that as well. It migh be a good idea to get yourslf the test strips (diptests) fo the first round though. They always have a KH section on them.

Do you think it was possible that your daughter put somehting in the fishtank? Kids are kds and they can do some strange things sometimes. My reason for saying this is the spiraling and not being able to hold itslf right is a sure sign of poisoning. Especially if it happened all of a sudden...... :unsure:

Post back soon.

Paul

Guest Rookiefish