Black Eye?

Guest ripnormie

Guest ripnormie

hi. i'm very new to the world of fish. i live in a dorm room and yesterday i became the proud owner of a calico fantail named ringo, thanks to the local nnnnnn. He has two different colored eyes, one "normal" (white with a black pupil) and one black, which also has a black pupil which i can make out. i was just wondering if there was something wrong with him, or if this is just a random mutation of some sort. he's had the black eye since i've had him. i'm sorry, but i don't have any information on nitrites or anything, but i did treat his water before placing him in the one gallon aquariam, i am feeding him flakes that i soak beforehand, a few flakes a day, and he has a filter and and air wand. also, ringo seems to spend most of him time swimming back and forth, shaking his head, and will frequently go to the suface and suck water. i'm not really sure if this is normal behavior, or if there might be something bothering him. sorry this is so long, i'm just worried about ringo. any help or advice you can give me will be very much appreciated. :newfish

I think it might be normal that his eyes are different colors like that, but I'm not 100% sure.

Did you say you have him in a 1 gallon? You might want to upgrade that to a 10 gallon as soon as you can. I'm in college too, so I know how the dorms are a lil tight and money is short( or is that just me? lol):/ but its very important that he gets himself a bigger tank. The small tank will stunt his growth and the water quality will go bad real quick.

For now, i'd say do daily water changes of about 50%, treating the water with dechlor each change.

The behavior you described seems very normal to me. As long as he isn't CONSTANTLY at the top gasping or violently flashing around the tank, I would say he is fine.