New To Koko's

Guest Vex

Hello guys, I was very thankful for finding Koko's. I am about to tell you something that you have heard hundreds of times lol.

I am new to Goldfish keeping, and I recieved a 10 gallon tank for my b-day. I was very excited. I only wish I knew the things I knew before I came to Koko's. I had set up my 10 gallon Top Fin tank and got everything running. I had read the steps that a Pets Mart pamplet on Goldfish keeping had listed.

So following this pamplet I left the aquarium going for 24-hours before I got fish for it. I feel really bad now, knowing that I should of had the aquarium cycled before adding my goldfish. And of course again, not knowing that I would be overstocked I bought three goldfish : 2 Ryukins and a Common.

To make a long story short, I just want to make sure I am doing everything to make my fish happy. My aquarium has been running now for 2 weeks and I have had the 3 Goldfish in there for about 11 days. I have been doing 25% water changes every other day. Feeding once a day - Omega One flakes which I let soak for a minute before feeding. I also just got a air filter and bubbler a day ago, not knowing that this was important for Goldfish. I guess I just assumed that the power filter did everything.

I am guessing that my tank is still cycling, my readings from last water test -

ph - 8.0

Ammonia - 1.0

Nitrite - 0

Nitrate - 0

Any reccommendations for these readings are welcome. I dont know how high the Ammonia can get before it gets dangerous for the fish, I know there shouldnt be any but in the cycling process I think it needs to be there if I am not mistaken. I am also using Prime during water changes. Also before the nitrites show up, should I be adding salt yet? My guess is to wait until they show up for the salt.