Is He Dying?

Guest carolask

Guest carolask

Bought my fish 13 days ago. He was a sluggish eater from the beginning. after a week I noticed if he stopped swimming, he'd begin to float tail up. On day 10 he was floating on his side, then on his back at the top of the water. I thought he was a goner, but then he began to swim normally. This cycle has been going on for the last three days. His abdomen looks bloated and it doesn't look like he's pooping. Is there anything I can do to help/save him. I don't want him to suffer. Thanks for any help.

I am learning he's in a bowl that's too small -- one gallon. I feed him TetraFin flakes 2X a day, if he's eating. At first I used bottled water, but last time tap water that sat for 24 hours before changing the bowl. I'm new at goldfish ownership.

Guest carolask

Bought my fish 13 days ago. He was a sluggish eater from the beginning. after a week I noticed if he stopped swimming, he'd begin to float tail up. On day 10 he was floating on his side, then on his back at the top of the water. I thought he was a goner, but then he began to swim normally. This cycle has been going on for the last three days. His abdomen looks bloated and it doesn't look like he's pooping. Is there anything I can do to help/save him. I don't want him to suffer. Thanks for any help.

I am learning he's in a bowl that's too small -- one gallon. I feed him TetraFin flakes 2X a day, if he's eating. At first I used bottled water, but last time tap water that sat for 24 hours before changing the bowl. I'm new at goldfish ownership.

HI and welcome.

Yes a bowl is very bad for a gf, he is suffering from water issues.

You will need to upgrade him (if you only have 1 fish) to a 10-20 gal tank with a filter.

You will need to read up on cycling and water quality.

Until then you need to be changing his water 100% everyday to make the water safe for him.

Gf cannot live in a bowl for long.