Champs From Stores?

demekin42

Is is possible to get show quality fish from lfs? I mean if I were to get two fish from my lfs and breed them could I cull for the best and maybe get show quality fish? Or do I need to get a fish from a reputable breeder or import one from Asia? Just curious? :huh:

not an expert in this, but show quality fish from LFS? nope. breed a champ from 2 LFS fish? very hard, but almost impossible. it's hard even to produce show quality offspring from champion parents.

Guest mickey85

I'll tell you why, and relate it to Bettas...

When I was a freshman, I had the smart notion that I could take a pet store male, and 4-5 pet store females, and get families of different colors based on what the parents were. For instance, I had an all white female (albino, no apparent genetic qualities to be passed on) and a red veiltail male. I assumed that the great number of the offspring would look like dad, right? Wrong. the female threw some of her genes in there and I got everything from pink to blue to black to a gorgeous brown one.

This was really not helpful, because this was being done for an undergraduate research project, so that set me back a month. HAd to spend $75 on a good, breeder quality pair of fish and go from there...then after the project, I'd throw one of my pet store females in with the show male and see what happened. EVen with champion bloodlines on one side of the family, I still got a whole hodgepodge mix of colors and styles. This time though, some had veil tails, some had crown tails, and one even had a split tail!

So, the genetics of pet store fish are highly questionable, and you basically get what you pay for with that kinda stuff...