Water Chemistry Data Chart

Kissy

I wanted to know trace elements and such that are in my tap water....so I found this chart on a website. I have no idea what it means :rolleyes: Can some one help me decipher this? I have a betta with reoccuring fin rot, and I'm thinking that maybe something in the water is doing this. I also want to know how much prime I should use when treating fresh water going into the tanks. I also have a water softener, so that might change some of the numbers, but I'm not sure how much. Thanks :)

Um... is this what you're talking about?

th_gilbert.jpg

Anyways... it really doesn't tell us much. Your town's pH is pretty normal, which is good. I got one of those for my parent's town, and it said the pH was 8.4 (!!!). Your water can come with up to 8 ppm nitrates, but that's not anything to worry about either. And it looks like they use Chlorine rather than Chloramines, which is good too.

Anyone else? I'm no expert at this. :D

We're talking about the same thing... the pic I posted is just a screen shot from that pdf file. If you click on it, it gets bigger.

And yeah, it's the information you're looking for.

Your water comes from 2 sources. the salt river project and from 13 wells. They use ozone and chlorine to disinfect the water and filter it thru activated carbon. they also add caustic soda which is probably soda ash which is a buffer. Several of the wells will exceed the new standards for arsenic but overall the water doesn't exceed the new standard. I can't tell from their diagram where the well water comes into the system. My city has a similar thing going on with several wells and as I understand it, the well water goes directly into the distribution system rather than thru the water treatment plant, so our water varies somewhat depending on where you live in town.

These are the Metal Safe Limit levels as defined in the Textbook of Fish Health:

Your highest value - toxicity info