I Heard..

Guest Pahwanga

Guest Pahwanga

Hi, someone told me that a fish will only grow to suit it's enviroment. Is it healthy for a fish not to grow to it's full potential? for instance, I have a baby pearlscale which is about 1 1/2 " in a 3 gallon tank, if I kept it in that tank would it still grow?? I am moving my gold fish into a larger tank once it's ready but I was just wondering if being in that tank is hindering it's natural growth.

I'm sure someone can answer my question. Seems to be a lot of goldfish experts around here. It's nice having so many people I can count on for advice concerning my goldie.

Guest mellowr

lol im no expert but i do know it depends on environment, food & genetics. Pearscales usually can grow big but not monster size, actually fairly small compared 2 a fantail etc. also something about growth suppressing hormones that inhibit further growth to protect itself from overgrowing the tank. thats all i know!

I know that most do not recommend keeping fish in cramped conditions. I think they release the growth stunting hormone when they breath. Im not sure how regular water changes affects this. Three gallons is very tiny for a goldfish. For awhile it may be ok. I was always told one gallon of water for every inch of fish. Goldfish can get to 10 inches which explains why the experts say to put your fish in 10 gallons per goldfish. My tank is overcrowed as it is and it makes me very nervous. I do extra water changes. I do 50% ever week instead of 25%. Sometimes 2 water changes each 25% or one big one of Friday. If you absolutly cant get a bigger tank I would suggest changing the water weekly...not 100%, but maybe 50%. Keep a close eye on your water parameters. Get a test kit if you dont already have one. That is a very important tool to have.