Inexpierenced And New Goldfish Owner

Guest Trinity

Guest Trinity

Hey guys!

I'm new to the whole goldfishies things. I won my first 2 goldfish at a fair, then bought 5 more at the store. Now they are in a 10 gallon tank, with a Whisper Filter, Gravel, a small plastic castle, and a plastic plant. I love animals, and was really excited to get some goldfish. :D:D :D Now for my questions...

Question #1: Is it okay for my 7 goldfish to be in a 10 gallon tank? I read on the Koko's site how goldfish need 5-10 gallons per, but each of my goldfish are only an inch long. Is this alright?

Question #2: My goldfish never sleep? I've been watching my goldfish a lot, and they don't seem to sleep at all. I've tried closing all the lights , and checking on them, but they still swim around like crazy with the light on or off. Does this mean they're stressed or something? Plus, their poop is white or clear. Is this stress? And is there a way to relax them?

Question # 3: Is the current of my tank to strong? My goldfish always huddles around the opposite side of my tank. I don't have many decorations, does this cause the current be too strong?

Question #4: My parents are advising me to now get a testing kit, and I'm not sure if I should get one either. I want to get one, but they are a little too expensive. We're having a slight family crisis, we went to Australia. and my mom is going to taiwan, so our budget is pretty low this year and I don't wan't to spend extra money on a pretty expensive kit. Will frequent water changes be enough?

Question #5: Is it best for me to get a bubbler?

Question #6: Lately I've been seeing a lot of tiny white bubbles that gather around the surace edges of my tank, and my filter. I've cleared them out every so often, but they keep coming back, is this harmful?

Sorry for so many questions, and I hope it isn't too much to read. :S I just don't want my fishies to die, I want them to be healthy and live as long as possible. :)

~Trinity