How Does This Sound?

Guest becka

Guest becka

Hi guys. I'm new around here so.....HOWDY!

Ok, I've just turned my 5ft tank into a GF tank (I think it's 75gal or 300lt)So far I've got:

1 x Fluval 304 Cannister

1 x Fluval 404 Cannister

A mixture of fake and live plants

(Planning to put a bubble wall all the way across the back of the tank)

1 x Bubble eye GF

2 x Pearscale GF

2 x Oranda GF

2 x Ryukin GF and

a small sucker fish (grey, not sure what its called)

They are all around 1 inch in size.

My question is, does this sound ok and do I need a heater? My LFS says if I get the water to around 22 deg C, they will grow faster. Also, whats the go with "goldy salts?"

What are your thoughts? Would you say this is the maximum fish I could have? I'm Still learning and would appreciate your comments.

I have kept tropical and marine fish for about 3 years so I know a bit, but Ive never had fancy GF b4.

Thanks

Bec

:welcome Sounds like a pretty sweet set-up! The only thing I can think of is what kind of suckerfish do you have? If it is a little otocinculus (dwarf) then you may need to think about moving him out when the goldies get bigger. Also, bubble eyes have a much harder time competing for food (because they can't see it) so you may want to take extra care making sure he gets dinner, too! I'm sure you have thought about protecting his precious eye bubbles by battenting any sharp objects that might harm him...

The generel ROT (Rule of Thumb) is about 10 gallons per fish. Since you have some nice filtration going, you might be able to add another one or two! I personally think it is better to be a little understocked becasue they grow SO fast!

Be sure to visit the tropicals forum to add some wisdom! Enjoy your goldfish! :newfish

Guest becka