Goldfish

Guest carmen

Guest carmen

Hello

I am a newbie and I just got a fish tank. The reason I got a tank was that my little girl won a goldfish at a carnival so I went and got a 10 gal tank at a local pet store. I also bought two more fish and was wondering how many goldfish can I put in a 10 gal tank. Also I would like to get a cat fish but dont know if that is a good idea or not. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Hi Carmen and welcome! The general rule for most goldfish is 10 gallons per fish. Goldfish grow to be very large, plus they are messy fish (poop alot). With having more than one fish in your 10 gal tank, you'll need to do very frequent water changes.

If your daughter won a Comet or a common, then a 10 gal is too small. they'll need something bigger or a pond. As for the catfish, I can't help you. Personally, I don't think it would be a good idea.

:nana