New Here Also 10 Gallon Advice Please :)

Guest 2 lil fancies

Guest 2 lil fancies

Hiya all,

hope you don't mind me posting.

I'm evicting 2 fancy goldfish from their ten gallon tank into a new bigger home and am looking at maybe getting some tropicals to go in the empty 10 gallon.

Never kept them before so i've been asking round various pet shops for advice.

The most reasonable answer i got was

2 catfish (grow to 5cm max)

4 zebra danios

and two mollies.

Does this sound ok or is it too overcrowded?

Can anyone advise me any different?

Many thanks

T

Hi there :)

I'm no expert, but I've heard from several places that mollies need a lot of space. I've also read that the Zebra Danios are fast swimmers and like to have a large swimming area.

Somebody else could probably give better advice though. I'm sort of new to tropical also and all of the info I have has been gathered from several websites and the wonderful people on this message board *hugs board* :)

Good luck with the tropicals!

Hi there....of course we don't mind you posting, thats how ya learn!! :D

Mollies are what we had when I was growing up and they were in a 55Gal tank......Don't know for sure if they had to be but thats what mom had them in with a few other fish and some oscars.

I do know that they can grow up to be a good sized fish so I guess my advice would be to upgrade to a bigger tank if you can. 8 fish in a 10gal sounds overcrowed to me, but thats just me. I don't know that much about danio's or catfish?? can't be of much help on that

one.... :huh:

Have you gave any thought to a Betta? Good luck with your tropies.....whatever you do end up getting.....

:D Post back soon and let us all know...... :exactly

Guest 2 lil fancies

Hi,

thanks for the replies :)

I thought that might be the case :S The pet shop staff round here seem to know woefully little stuff!