Smallest Fancies?

Guest Abrienna

Guest Abrienna

I'm thinking of putting together a tank for my classroom this coming school year, as I'm pretty certain that my daughters are not going to le me take my African Clawed Frogs back to school this fall. I've got a 20 long aquarium that is empty right now, and I was wondering which goldies would be happiest. Should I get two of the same type? One of one type and one of another? So many possibilities!

(Aside: I'm a Head Start teacher, and my students are 3 - 4 years old, so I'm thinking that the varieties with limited eyesight might be stressed out by the rapid movements of excited children.)

Abrienna

oops!I put oranda twice.Fantails are good too.Also comets and commons grow big so if you want one of those you should put only one in your 20 gallon.Good luck!and i also think you should be careful since the kids might do something to it.(When i was in second grade my classmates didn't pay attention to work they were under the spell of the class betta) :lol:

Class pets are great! I never got to have any *sniff* You should do like a unit about fishies and teach them some stuff, like how the use gills to breath and such :) I know I would love that unit!

I would go with two orandas, fantails, ryukins or ranchus as those are about the hardiest of the fancy breeds. You could alternatively have one common (though I would not recomend a even a single comet for a 20-gallon) but it would be nicer for the fish to keep more than one; GF can get lonely on their own. :)

What a thoughtful teacher! Wish mine had been more into fish and less into Maths and French! :lol:

pom pom pearl scale would be your shortest in legth and body, they just look like a golf ball with a small tail very cute. dont get confused with a crown pearl scale as they are different they have long tails and head growth.