Sandy Soil?do I Need Reinforcement?

jsrtist

All these questions are popping up the more I dig. So far I havent uncovered any pipes or lines, luckily! Our soil here is very very soft and sandy. Its great as far as the digging goes because it is so easy to dig out. But Im worried about the sides collapsing in the first rain or something. Do I need any reinforcement to prevent that? If so how would I do it?

Also I am using a thinner grade PVC liner, not the super thick high quality one. I was going to line the hole with all the old carpet we have removed from the house. Do you think that will work? Im trying to figure out a way to attach the carpet in the hole to keep it in place. Like I said, Im new to liner ponds and keep thinking of more things the further I go. :)

Im no expert but ill tell you what i think...

I wouldn't worry to much about the walls callapsing, when you get the

liner in there with the water its going to be very strong (in my experience).

The carpet sounds like a great idea,To attach it maybe you can nail it ?

Im not sure if the ground is too soft for that though.

Alex

If you lived in Idaho I'd say don't worry about the walls callapsing, my soil is so hard you'd think it was cement. My deep end it almost 5 foot deep straight down, not worried. You live in California, your soil is way different.