Oranda Acting Strange

mrbowlerdude

I've had my oranda for a couple weeks now, I just love watching it and everything has been going quite well. I changed 10% of the water yesterday, and today its seems to be hovering either in the corner under one of my plants, or on the other side of the tank right above the other plant. It used to swim around the tank all day. It will still swim around, but it hovers for 10-15 minutes at a time.

It also had today a very long white thin poop trailing behind it, about the same length as the fish itself. I'm very new at keeping goldfish and researching every day so nothing goes wrong. Anyone have any ideas on what to try? My black moor seems to be doing just fine, and is as lively as ever. I'm going to go buy a test kit for my water tomorrow.

Tank size(How many Gals) and How long has it been running? 20 gal, month

How often do you change the water and how much? weekly, 10%

Filtration? Aqua Clear Filter

Water additives/conditioners? Tetra Aquasafe

What do you feed your fish? Fish flakes soaked for a couple minutes, peas

Medications add to the tank? none

How many fish in the tank and their size? 1 oranda, 1 black moor, 3 tadpoles

Any new fish added to the tank? black moor 3 days ago

Any unusual findings on the fish? Such as "grains of salt", bloody streaks, frayed fins, fungus Any unusual behavior? Nothing besides the hovering and the long thin poop.

Hi, mrbowlerdude, :welcome

I can think of a couple of possibilities that may be causing the behaviour of your oranda.