Need Some Ideas... Please

Guest JustJayde

Guest JustJayde

Hey there I am new to the fish world, and found this site a week ago. Since then I have bought all the things I need to make a happy goldfishie. However I am extremely poor..... and by this I mean bare minimum setup. My tank, has no lid/cover though and this bothers me.

1. water will evaporate fast.

2. it splashes.

3. I know some fish jump and that worries me.

What can I do for a lid (please don't say tinfoil it looks really ghetto). For 10.00 or less. Please, ideas?

thanks!

by the way LOVE this site! :D

Well there is plexiglass but I'm not sure how much that runs for. Plastic mesh canvas is about .25 cents at craft stores and can be cut into a million different lids. Someone else will come along with more ideas I'm sure.

With or without a lid you will get some degree of water evaporation. The mesh will reduce the splashing but since it has tiny holes maybe not all of it.

Good luck! :)

Guest JustJayde

Yea i thought of mesh....

I thought of making a frame out of a coat hanger (metal) then sewing mesh around it......

Water evap is not a worry I guess......

The air tube does splash like mad though , I can't seem to control that lol

Oh the splashing is from the pump not the filter? Yeah, no one can really help that, even mine spritzes like crazy when the lid comes off.

The coat hanger sounds good, just watchout around the splashing, it might rust over and cling itself to the lip ment to hold the hood up.

Guest JustJayde

yea I think I am going to have to try and get a proper lid somehow.

I will just think of it as a 1 time expense, same as the tank and filter etc. It will be worth going hungry for a month or two to have a sweet little pet. :)

Now the key is to find one local for a reasonable price.. most of the places I called told me they don't sell just the lid... to go get plexi glass. BUT then I would have no way to cut out a spot for the air tube and filter.