Can Antibacterial Food Mess Up Water Chemistry?

Guest RookieToo

Guest RookieToo

I am a rookie goldfish owner with a tank started in late February which FINALLY finshed cycling at the beginning of June. I was religiously testing and changing about 25% of the water almost daily during the first few months (it's only a 10gallon tank with one fish that I rescued and the tank was what I had at home).

The fish, who wasn't healthy to start, started to show signs of some type of illness around the first part of June (ironic...since my water reading were now great!). He/she was lethargic, laying on the bottom and starting to show redness in his fail fins and what looked like a sore on his tail). I didn't want to use Maracyn II -- since I used that when I initially got him and I think that's what delayed my cycle.

I wasn't sure if he had a bacterial infection of some type, since the tank water was close to 80 degrees during this early June hot spell, and I hadn't yet gotten an airstone.

Someone in the local aquarium society suggested the airstone. I got a pump, hooked it up and put that in, and started treating the tank with salt, and 1tsp of Pimafix and Melfix daily (was told that wouldn't hurt the biofilter). I also started feeding the fish a tiny bit of Jungle antibacterial food. I say "tiny" because he wasn't eating much and the stuff floats and so he'd maybe eat two pieces and perhaps two more pieces would end up floating in the water. I used the antibacterial food sparingly for about a week.

The good news is the fish is MUCH better. Tail and fins looking just fine; now active and curious and eating. However, all of a sudden my water readings are getting wacky. This week, all of a sudden my ammonia reading is up and so are my nitrites. Ammonia appears to be around 1.0(!) and nitrite around (argh - I forget and I'm not writing this from home ....not too high, but not great -- .25?) and nitrate around 10ppm. pH was all ok.