Cycling Advice Appreciated

Guest FishLikeSequins

Guest FishLikeSequins

Hello!

My mother just recently gave me an oranda for my birthday (I know, pets aren't good for suprise gifts), he's my first goldfish. I'm new to fishkeeping and I've been researching this site and some others. I just started cycling his tank (a 10 gallon), and tested everything today (which my dad calls "playing chemistry set with the fish" lol).

The reading seems normal, no nitrites or nitrates, and the ammonia is at .25 ppm. Is that alright? The ammonia needs to build up and level off in order for the tank to cycle- right? I just worry about my fishy's flesh getting burned!

Also- the water here is very hard- 150 ppm, which I think is in range, but please let me know if I should do anything to try to soften it a little.

The Ph is my biggest worry right now, it clocked in at 8.4- and the alkalinity read 300. I bought a bottle of Ph Decrease, but I haven't used it yet, because I want to get everyone's advice first. This site and forum are the best! All of you have helped me extensively already!

Thank you!

Lauren

:heart

Guest Phreno

I must say that I don't know much about pH. Maybe daryl can help you with that.

But I do know that the ammonia will get quite high before it starts going down. THe amount in the toxic form is based on the temperature and pH. Here is a chart that will tell you when to do a water change. When it gets into the yellow or red, you have to do a water change and get it out of the danger zone.

Ammonia Toxicity Page

At 8.4 as your pH, you need to do water changes and keep the ammonia below .25 I think. THat will be a pain in the booty. You'll need to test twice a day and change water accordingly.

Good luck! :)

Guest Chishower

My PH is also in the lower 8's. It should be ok as long as you have good, hard water that acts as a buffer to keep it from changing. My water is also hard (in the 300ppm!) and my fish are fine.