Eyeball Ripped Out

camcorder

im really freaking out, i was doing a water change and a leaf got stuck in the tube so i took of the large plastic thing on the end of the gravel cleaner and i looked away for a second and like that my moor got its eyeball stuck and riped out in the tube, it was so horrible so now hes just swiming around with a completely empty socket, i cant stop crying and i dont know what to do

Guest Chishower

Can you answer the questions in the white box at the top of the screen?

The poor fishy. :heart I don't know if you can really do anything for that, other than keep the water perfect until it heals, but I am not an expert.

Is he still swimming around alright?

nitrates 10

nitrites 0

ph 7.6

hes swimming around pretty normal, it just happened when i made the first post so he seems like he is also still alittle shocked, its just reall terrible beacuse i can see the actuall stem of where the eye connected, i just dont know what to do, i feel so bad

Poor darling! It doesn't look all that pretty , but with pristine water and a little help for him to find food he should be just fine. Unfortunately, a lot of things are dangerous to telescopes and other "eye handicapped" fish.

He probably doesn't wonna eat today, or move around much, maybe hide in his favorite spot, away from currents and his tank mates. That is perfectly normal, he has to adjust not only to the pain he has right now, but also to the fact that he only can see things now with just one eye. This will level out, and he adjusts fine over a couple of days.

I would recommend keeping the water as pristine as you can - no ammonia or nitrites (which you dont' have anyway), tank lights off to keep the stress down. And when you offer him some food, make sure the other fish don't disturb him. He will get used to either hand feeding or finding his food at always the same spot in the tank.