Advice On Tank Cleaning?

Guest danxxx

Guest danxxx

Hello, I'm really new to fishkeeping; having to learn a lot real fast. My tank is new (running just 6 days now with 1 fish). I know that once my tank has cycled, I'll need to clean my tank once a week: 'vacuum' the gravel (with syphon), rinse filter sponge in tank H20, change 25/30% of water, etc tec. But what do I do during the cycling period itsef? I've been changing a small amount of H20 daily to keep ammonia & nitrites down, but when the new tank is cycling should I clean the gravel and rinse the filter sponge? Cause I know the good bacteria grow in the sponge and gravel. Would cleaning them not slow the growth of good bacteria? I don't want to bother the fish either if I can avoid it, cause she's new, a bit stressed and having mild swim bladder trouble/constipation due to this. Having said that, I would clean the gravel if not cleaning it meant dangerously too much waste would build up. I know what to do once the tank's cycled, but what to do while it's cycling? Does anyone have any advice? Thanks! :newfish

For now I would just gently take the visible waste out from the top layers of the gravel, with your python. That should do it for now. Or only small parts of the gravel, say 25 % of the gravel once a week. That way you don't disturb the building bacteria not too much, but at the same time make sure that there isn't any foul bacteria lingering in the gravel.

If you do it the right way, no waste will escape while syphoning. Stick the syphon straight down into the gravel, and once the suction starts, just gently go up and down with the python, not side ways, and not out of the gravel, just an inch or so up and down. That way the waste left and right of the python doesn't escape from the gravel, and you won't have cloudy water afterwards from free floating waste.