I Think I May Get A Little Snail Tank..

Kissy

I'm a total newbie to snails but I think they are really cute and I may get a few soon. I need help on the requirements tho.

Here is the big list of questions:

Will a 2 gallon "pet carrier" thingie do for snails only? I think I may get a couple plants to put in there..what kind is best? Do they just need to be rooted in gravel? If I give my snails plenty of veggies will they eat the plants? Does a snail/plant tank need lights? Do you need to condition water for them? What pH do they like best? How do you clean their tank (especially a small one with plants)? Does it hurt the snails to pluck them off the glass? Will an airstone be sufficient enough for the snails if I have plants in there? What about without plants?

I know this is a huge list of questions, I'm sorry. I just want to know the REAL requirements opposed to getting some bogus ones off the internet that may not be true. If there is a good snail website with lots of info, it would be helpful to me :)

I found that applesnail.net was a great resource when I had snails. If you have specific questions, though, there are lots of people on this forum who'll answer. In fact, I'm sure Devs'll come around here sometime later and give you all the information I can't. :lol:

Will a 2 gallon "pet carrier" thingie do for snails only?

~in general, the rule for snails is 2 gal per snail...wouldnt give you much room :(

I think I may get a couple plants to put in there..what kind is best?

~Depends on what kind of snail...alot will happily munch down your plants

Do they just need to be rooted in gravel?

~again, depends on the type of plant

If I give my snails plenty of veggies will they eat the plants?

~most likely not since theyll be busy with the veggies, but mine are cows and would eat the plants too :blink:

Does a snail/plant tank need lights?