Choking Scare

Guest VxShady

Guest VxShady

Okay.. okay. <breaths> So I dropped a Hikari Algae Wafer into my tank for a snack. And one of my Ryukins, Peaches, who's no bigger then 2 inches without tail, just sucked up the entire thing into his mouth, plus a piece of gravel. I was in shock for a bit. Staring, waiting, hoping that he could chew it down a little bit. He managed to spit out the gravel, but he didn't seem to be getting anywhere with the wafer. So after waiting a few moments and hoping he'd work it out himself, cause I've never done anything like this before. I pulled out the tweezers, dove for him, held him right under water level and went in. He sat pretty well for it I was surprised. It felt like it was stuck on something, so I kept hesitating and pulling the tweezers out and regrabbing it cause I didn't know if I had a piece of his mouth or if he was just sucking really hard. Then finally I just pulled it out. He didn't even make a dent in the thing. I'm a little shaken, and I'm not sure if I did the right thing or if he could have handled it. But I didn't want to risk finding out. Do you think he'll be okay? He actually held his mouth open for me while the tweezers were in it. I didn't think his mouth was big enough to suck that thing up. I'm all shaky. <faints>

Oh I think you did the right thing. I'm sure that was scary! Those wafers are pretty hard and I don't know if he would've worked it out for himself or not. But good for you! :) My DH was watching the fish a few days ago and said that our black moor had a rock stuck in his mouth. We watched him for a few seconds to see if he could get it out and he finally did but he was really flicking himself around to get it out. I was saying somebody get the tweezers in case he needs help! It gets you scared for a bit.