Goldfish Gasping

Guest mcann

Guest mcann

I am new at having an aquarium and bought the fish before I found out the information that I needed. I have since bought the test kits etc and have been testing the water twice a day.

Currently, the ammonia level is at .25, nitrite is 0, nitrate is 0, PH is 7.2 and temerature is 69F. The tank is 10 gallons and has been running for only 9 days. I have been doing daily water changes of 10-50% to keep ammonia levels down. There are 2 common goldfish in the tank that are very small (1.5 inches). I have been adding Nutrafin Aqua Water Conditioner, Cycle and Waste Control. I have not given any medications.

I have been feeding the fish Wardley Slow Sinking Crumbles, NutrafinMax Sinking Goldfish Pellets, Cooked Spinach and peas.

One of my two goldfish has been sitting at the top of the tank for 2 days gasping for air. He rarely leaves that spot and I haven't seen him eat for at least 2 days. He also usually has his fins clamped. Otherwise, he looks fine. Is is the ammonia levels that are causing this behaviour or could it be some disease? I had another fish in the tank at the beginning as well and he died on the 2nd day. One of his fins fell right off and a couple of hours later, he was on the bottom of the tank. I am a little annoyed with the pet store that sold them to me because they told me that 3 goldfish in a bowl would be fine. After reading some information, I went and bought a 10 gallon tank, mechanical filter, etc and also found out that the fish they sold me were the ones they sell for live food. No one mentioned anything about cycling tanks or that goldfish could not live in a bowl etc. So now I am in the middle of cycling my tank while trying to keep these poor fish alive. Help!