New To Gold Fish/possable Problem

Guest Nightheron

Guest Nightheron

Hi! Im new here and this is my first post. So please bear with me if I mess up any of the protocall.

Im new to gold fish. And have set up a new/used tank. 45 gal. I added some bacterial substrate from one of my other tanks to help get it started. And let the tank aclimate for 6 weeks with heavey to moderate airation the whole time. The tank ph was a bit high 7.4 and has been brought down to about 6.8+- over the last few days. The day before a bought the fish I treated the tank with Aquarium Pharmasiticals "Stress Coat" alo vera aquarium water conditioner. I have also checked the water hardness. I stoped this test when the hardness level was determined to be over 300. I have a water softner pillow. but its being used in another tank at the moment.

Ammonia Level = 0

Nitrate level?= unknown

Ph Level out of the Tap? = 7.2

What kind of Filtration?= Wisper Power Filter #2

What kind of Water additives or conditioners?= Stress Coat

Any Medications add to the tank?= No

How many fish in the tank and there size?= 6 2.5-3" fantails

Add any new fish to the tank? = These are the only ones.

What do you feed your fish? = OSI Goldfish aquarium flake food. And on one occasion tubefex worms. Is this ok ?

Any unusual findings on the fish? Such as

"grains of salt", bloody streaks, frayed fins, fungus?= No

Any unusual behavior? Like staying

at the bottom, not eating, ect..? = Yes . One stays on the bottom a lot. When it notices Im there, it will start swimming normaly/looking to be feed.

Tank size(How many Gals) and How long has it been running? = And have set up a new/used tank. 45 gal. I added some bacterial substrate from one of my other tanks to help get it started. And let the tank aclimate for 6 weeks with heavey to moderate airation the whole time.