Salt In Water And Good Food

Guest lenny165

Guest lenny165

About salt in water, if you use softwater from your sink does that salt work as well for fish. I'm fairly new to this and also I use Tetrafin goldfish crisps says 35%less waste What do you pro's out there use.

Water softeners work by a process called ion-exchange. YOu tap water is passed through your softener which containstiny beads of ion-exchange resin. The resin attracts the hard ions in your water and exchanges them for soft ones.

To keep the water softener working you need to clean or recharge the resin beads to keep your water softener working. This involves adding salt tablets. These make a salt brine solution that, when passed through the resin, will automatically clean the resin.

The water softener will then thoroughly wash away the cleaning brine, but it will contain slightly more salt that regular tap water.

The formula for calculating the amount of sodium in your softened water is as follows: mg of Na / quart of softened water = grains of hardness X 7.5 mg Na / grain of hardness.

This amount is generally very small. You can still use salt with your softened water - but you will need less or none at all. The most reliable method to determine your salt content is to do it empirically - by using a test to actually read salt concentrations as opposed to mathematically calculating content.

I am not familiar with the Tetrafin Goldfish crisps but they sound yummy, don't they. I love anything that sound crispy!

There are many discussions on the varied diets of goldfish under the forum for foods - you will be suprised at how many things a goldfish likes to eat! I have ProGold as my fish's main diet, with many vegetables, fish products, algae, gel food and fresh greens as extras. :)