Strange Behaviour

Guest Twinkle

Guest Twinkle

Hi

Im new to the board and quite new to keeping goldfish. I got them for my children who have them at school.

We have 3 goldfish in an adequate tank with all the trimmings. The fish have always seemed happy and content.

However over the last couple of days two of the fish seem to be 'latched' on the other. Where ever he swims they are constanly stuck by him. One is at his side and the other, pardon me for this, seems to be at his 'bum'. I dont know why they are doing this. If anyone can fill me in on this i will be more than grateful. I do tend to worry alot and the children seem to think they are hurting it. Please help!!

Thankyou

T

I'm new to keeping goldies too, but if I'm not mistaken, it sounds like breeding behavior. :heart

My goldies tend to bump each other along and even nip at times. I think there is a pinned video of goldfish breeding behavior in the Breeding section of the forum, maybe that's what your fish are doing? :)

However, I am still a newbie, so I'm sure someone more experienced will see your note. :exactly

Guest Twinkle
Thank you so much Eatbubbles. Just looked at the video and this is  :exactly   what they are doing.  :D

Thanks again

T

318984[/snapback]

Yeah maybe I should lol

Podgy my tank is 10 gal...is this big enough. We do wanna go bigger in the next couple of month tho.

Guest Twinkle

Hi podgy

Sorry that was meant to say 30 gal not 10, just realised what I put. :rolleyes: They are double tailed fish. I think there is a bit of a difference too isnt there between US gal and UK gal. Not sure which is the biggest. When we got the tank etc, we bought it from a large fish and supplies company here in the uk, they said it was ample for what we needed. Then we went back a few days later for the fish. They give us hours and hours of pleasure, just watching them and the kids love them to pieces. They are called Fi-fi, Finn and Nelson. They really are :slicedbread

:fishtank:

T