Help.....

Guest Ted_Suzi

Guest Ted_Suzi

I am pretty new at all of this.... We have had Red Hot Head for about a year and a half. For the most part she has been healthy. Now her tail is ragged and bloody looking. She also has what looks like a blister under her eye. (it is pretty large) She is swimming and eating as normal. She is in a 5 gallon tank with one other small gold fish. I am not even sure what kind they are. Red hot is white with red on the top of her head. Goldy is all orange and both have double tails. So far Goldy is okay. I treated the water with Fungus clear by Jungle, waited 4 days, did a 25% water change and treated again. (as per instructions on box). I have seen no change or improvment. I do not know what my water levels are. We have never tested in 1 1/2 years and never had a problem. What should I do next? I will go and get a water test if nessasary. Do you think this might be a bacterial infection? I am really not sure what to do next. I do have another small tank. Should I move Red Hot out?? Help please.... Suzi

Your fish are probably outgrowing their tank and you should start to think about getting a larger tank. A good size for two goldfish would be about 20 gallons.

You problem does sound like a water quality problem. You could start by getting your water tested. Most larger pet stores will test your water for free. Ask them for the numbers, not just whether it is "good or bad". Particularly ask for ammonia, nitrite, nitrate and ph.

You should probably start by doing a fairly large water change. I would change 50% of the water and vacuum the gravel (if you have any). Rinse your filter cartridges.

Please let us know the results of the water tests and also a little more about your tank, i.e. what kind of filtration you have, your maintenance routine, that kind of thing.

Guest Ted_Suzi