Need Help With My Goldfish

Guest omega364

Guest omega364

Hi i need help with my fish. I just got him two weeks ago. I cant give you any readings on my tank because I dont have a test kit, and I cant take a water sample to a pet store because I am a college student and have no transportation. The tank is a small tank, probably 1-2 gallons. the fish is only a couple inches long. I got him from a pond and brought him here to college. I put an airpump in the tank and poked several holes in the hose to reduce the air flow(orignally it was causing a very strong current. My fish was fine for the first week, but early this week he just started sitting at the bottom of the tank and not moving. I tried a 50% water change but that didnt seem to help. At first I thought he was constipated(had the long trail of poo hanging behind) but I stopped feeding him and that hasnt helped either. I just moved him to a secondary tank and did a complete water change, cleaned gravel everything. I am currently waiting for the water to dechlorinate before moving him back any. Does anyone have any ideas as to what could be wrong?

Hi Omega 364,

Sorry your having a problem with your fish. Part of the problem may be the size of the tank. I realize your fish is small but the tank is way to small for a goldfish. They need a minimum of 10 gal. per fancy and 20 gal. per common. They need good filtration as well because they are very dirty fish. If your fish came from a pond it must have had plenty of room, so being moved to a small tank may be the problem.

I agree, having a gf in a small tank like that the only thing to do is 100% water change every day. Of course you will have to temp match the water and add a water conditioner every time as well.

You can get a 10 gal set up relatively cheap at nnnnnn, usually.

Other than that there isn't much you are going to be able to do to keep him healthy......sorry. GF require alot of care.

Guest omega364