What Do I Do Now For 'margaret'? :)

Guest goldenmom

Guest goldenmom

Hi, everyone,

I am a newbie and have only posted once about 'Margaret', my Oranda, who, a few days ago, wasn't swimming around, just kind of suspended at the top of my pond. Brought her into a hospital tank which I salted at the rate of 1TBSP./5gallons, and dechlorinated. I started adding Pimafix and continued that for about 4 days because she had white spots on her tail, and it was also pretty raggedy looking. She hadn't been eating, but I'm happy to say that yesterday and today, she ate vigorously! She is also swimming around normally with her dorsal fin up, and her left gill, which seemed immobile, is now functioning. I think her tail looks better, but I also think a new 'shred' appeared on her dorsal fin a couple of days ago. However, the white spots are gone as far as I can see. My params are:

PH - 7.4

Ammonia - .5 (after a 25% water change this morning, it was 1.0)

Nitrite - .0

Nitrate - .0

Temp. 78

10 gallon tank with a Top Fin 5/15 filter

My questions are, is this ammonia level okay for now, and should I start the Pimafix again for what might be the remnants of Fin Rot? And are the 25% water changes okay? When I do the change, my water temp. drops to about 72, so can I add my fish back to this, or do I have to wait until it gets back up to 78, which, without a heater right now, takes awhile. Thanks so much for any help you can give me.

Lynn :)

Guest goldenmom