Are Goldfish Cannibalistic?

Guest marasmus02

Guest marasmus02

Hi,

I can't say that I am totally new to goldfish, since I've had a fantail (Sherman) for almost a year and he seems to have survived the ordeal of living with my husband and I. I will admit though that I am still absolutely clueless about them... Do they kill and eat each other? Someone told me that it sometimes happens, and I'm appalled! :o

The other day, I bought a small blackmoor goldfish and a small fantail to keep him company... Today, however, I discovered that the blackmoor had TOTALLY disappeared. I do not have a cover to my tank because in my naivete I bought the tank and filter separately, and am saving up for a proper hood for the tank... I figured, if he managed to jump out of the tank, his little corpse should be somewhere nearby... but I can't find it anywhere. Since we can't seem to find a sane explanation for the disappearance, my husband suggested that the big fish must have killed and eaten the smaller one. Does that happen?

Any insight to the disappearance of the little fish would really help...

Carrie

The only way the other fish would have eaten your black moor would be if the black moor was really tiny, and it could fit in the other goldies mouth. Have you checked everywhere around the tank? Behind it and all? it is porrible he jumped or, or maybe hes hiding somewhere in the tank? Is there anywhere he could hide in the tank, or possibly hide and then pass away, and you just havent found him there yet?

Guest 2 commons

I just recently got two fantails and a pearlscale. They were all about the same size. My fantails started picking on my pearlscale. Grabing his fins and shaking him. After he passed away they were still nipping and pulling on him.

It is possible that it was eaten. I agree with the other posts above he either had to be small enough to fit in the mouth or is stuck in an ornament or Jumped out. Otherwise you would find some reminence of him.

Sorry for your loss.