Testing Kits

This may be a question that you've all heard many times,

but I'm a little confused. I keep reading about testing for nitrates,

alkalinity and PH. Is there a test kit for everything or do I need

test kits for each procedure??? I'm kinda new to the world of gold's

so I'm still in the learning process. I'm not a rich man nor do I have

funds to waste on products that I don't need, so I'm asking for

some direction in my purchase of the kit (s). Which one (s) and what

brand do you all recommend as well as the going cost.

Thanks to all for your imput.

Guest gldfshkpr

During the "break-in" or first major cycle of a new tank, the nitrite test is used almost daily for the first 4-8 weeks. Ammonia is going to show up first, then nitrites. Later, when the tank has established itself, you'll be testing for nitrates to determine your water change frequency. The other tests; pH, GH, and KH are tests you need that will determine your water's qualities and how they each effect the overall conditions of your water. Ph in particular can fluctuate under certain conditions and cause divesting results if it "crashes". In any event, it's good practice to use all the tests at some point and "know" your water. I use Aquarium Pharmaceuticals Master test kit. It sells for about $25 in CA. The only test it doesn't come with is nitrates. I highly recommend it. The instructions are clear and well written. Hope this helps!

I use the Aquarium Pharmaceuticals freshwater master test kit also, and an Aquarium Pharm. nitrate test kit.

Ammonia and nitrite are incredibly important, pH is fairly important, and if your pH ever suddenly goes up/down, you'll want a KH test to know why. Those are all in that master test kit.