Sign in to follow this  
Guest koi_moon02

Are My Fish Breeding?

Guest koi_moon02

Hey I'm kinda new at taking take of goldfish. This is the first time I got an aquarium and some goldfish that actually lived for more than a week. I guess I'm learning...the sites help. I particly been on every one for tips. But now I think I have a problem. I think my goldfish are breeding but I'm not sure.

It started when we changed the water, we put it really cold...didn't realize it was that cold until later so we put the heater on. Yes I know I'm new at this so I'm an amateur. But ever since that incident my fish been chasing this really fat fish around. I read that fish breed in spring when the temperature changes. But after this incident I think my fish think it's spring and they wanna mate.

I'm worried about my fat fish because she's gettin hurt by all the other fish. Are they breeding...I'm not sure. Please help me. This been going on for almost 2 weeks. I'm worried about Queenie...my fat fish.

cold water makes it not want to breed. but if you put heater and its 72?+, it might breed.

one fish chasing other fish.

sounds like.

male[not chubby] chasing female[chubby]. this is called the spawning dance or something like that.

sounds like breeding behaviour to me. if they are in cold water that is gradually warmed up it does sometimes trigger breeding. you might find this topic of use to you:

http://www.kokosgoldfish.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=22931

:welcome

Guest koi_moon02

thanx for the help. So I think out of all of this I concluded they are startin to breed. My female fish is lookin rather rounder than usual and my male fish seems to have like two white dots on its gill.

My female fish is gettin rather beaten up. She lost a lot of scales and it seems that sometimes that she bleeding where she got beaten up.