Breeding Setup

Guest ed586

Guest ed586

Hi, I'm new to goldfish breeding. :scared I have discovered a few things I want, but will be getting some females soon who should be breeding in a month or two.

I will get about 25-30 gallons per fish for the adults.

I plan to leave the eggs/fry in an aquariu so I can watch them closely.

Question 1: How many gallons do I need for my fry? Do I need a lot to avoid ammonia, or little so they won't starve so easily. :blink:

Should I remove all filters? Should I replace with a bunch of airstones? What will prevent them from being sucked up into my filters or into the airstone current too much?

I'm basically looking for help in my set up. I have an area picked out and am ready for a ton of water changes when needed. I will get another aquarium and several tubs for when they grow. :nana

Thanks for any ideas or suggestions. :hi

id say you dont need much water per fry so id say about a 10 gal per 150 fry or something along the lines of that. avoid ammonia like the plague if you can. fry die at the slightest hint of ammonia so keep a really close eye on that. i wouldnt use any filters other than a tiny one with a sponge and if you can, kink the hose so the current isnt too much for the little ones. i would put an air stone in when they are about 1cm or so. have fun breeding! :panana

Guest ed586

Cool. So are several 10 gallon tanks good, or just 10 gallons per 150 fry in one big container?

The 25-30 gallons per firsh is for when they mature. I need a lot too, because they are sensitive American Veiltails.

:thanks :

Guest Orandaman

A 10 gallon would be perfect.

Some other things would be helpful are:

Ammonia monitor

Thermometer

Heater

Air pump

Airstone

Sponge filter

Plant (live or artificial)

Fry food

Ammonia should be monitored constantly. The monitor above is excellent to monitor harmful ammonia continually.

Temperature should be kept constant around 75F using a heater.