Sign in to follow this  
Guest AnnMc

I'm New To Goldfish & Getting Hooked!

Guest AnnMc

:hi Hello

I'm new to goldfish and to this most excellent site.

I live in London and have built a raised brick pond 6'x2'x1?', about 160 gallons, in my garden and stocked it with plants and four 5" Sarasa Comets.

The pond has a filter and water pouring down a large rock.

After reading some posts, I have decided that one is female and three are male as I observed three of them harrassing the one.

A few weeks ago I saw what looked like miniture tadpoles, wriggling. Could these have been freshly hatched fry?

A couple of days ago I saw one tiny ?" transparent/grey fish but haven't seen it since.

Today, when I was removing blanket weed, I found tiny orange specs with black dots and am assuming they are eggs. I think I'm hooked.

They've only been in the pond a couple of months and I'm not sure that more fish in such a small pond is very wise but it would be nice to think they are content enough to breed.

I was feeding them fish sticks but stopped after a few days as they just didn't seem interested in it.

I've also got lots of snails that must have come in with the plants. Should I be removing them?

Happy to receive any advice from all you GF experts!

Many thanks

Ann :D