Betta keeper new to goldfish

Guest MadDog

Guest MadDog

Hey there! Absolutely brand new to the forum, and I’ve never had goldies before... I’ve been raising bettas successfully for a while now as well as some nerite and mystery snails. I’ve experienced about every common betta disease there is and basically brought two rescues back to life! Happy to say that my newest rescue is comfortably regrowing his fins and living out the rest of his life with his nerite buddy.

I’ve been interested in getting a few goldfish for a while now. I’ve done some basic research and got really excited to start! I know basics such as water parameters, water temp, aquarium size and differences in breeds. I got a tank large enough for about three or four small goldfish (adult size 6-8 inch). I have not started cycling anything and I still need a filter. I have gravel, driftwood and Java ferns to put in the tank when ready. 

As I said, I am completely new to goldfish and I’m willing to take any advice! I also have a few questions about differences in bettas and goldfish.

I know goldies are intelligent and community fish, so I made sure to get a tank big enough for a couple of them. As a betta owner, I’ve had to be super careful about aggressive behaviors toward other fish and fin nipping. Are some goldfish more aggressive than others? Should I be careful about how I add new fish to the tank?

I have water conditioner that I use for my betta tanks, but do I need a different one for goldfish? Sounds like a dumb question, but I really don’t know...

I know a bit about fish diseases such as fin rot, ich, fungus, dropsy, popeye and others, but are there any common goldfish diseases I should be aware of?

I have read a lot about GIH, and was super nervous about it, so I got the biggest tank I could (maybe too big) but I was just curious, is that I really thing? Does it really stunt the fish’s growth?