Allie

HELP!! Fancy Goldfish Sucked up Filter

My fancy goldfish was sucked into the filter tail first and is now having trouble swimming. It’s swimming in a spiral or just floating. The other fish in the tank are trying to eat it so I separated it with a net. I’m really new to keeping goldfish and I’m wondering if anyone has advice for me.

Thank you for your help!!

Keep it separated, definitely. How did it get sucked up? Did the intake fall off or did you find it suctioned against the filter? Accidents happen to the best of us, but if it was the latter we probably want to open a disease thread and investigate, as healthy goldfish are strong swimmers and getting pushed around by the current or sucked against the filter is unusual and means something isn’t right.

But if the intake strainer was knocked loose and this goldfish just happened to be the unfortunate casualty, the best you can do is keep it separated, lights off, and give it a day or five of low stress recovery. If it is injured with an open wound or missing scales we may want to treat it in a hospital tank, too. Can you post pictures and more details?

The fish was against the filter. I got my fish ten days ago and this fish was always a little slower than the others. Last night I noticed it was having trouble eating (trying to eat but wasn’t opening its mouth wide). 

Here is a picture of the fish. Thank you so much for your help

3FE044C8-D24C-4710-BA99-077B8E1E3469.jpeg

Okay, that’s definitely not normal. If this is a new fish, it would benefit from quarantine and treatment for flukes, especially if he isn’t able to open his mouth much.