endlesserror

Upgrading my planted goldfish stock tank

Hi, I'm new to this forum (have been lurking and reading for a while and am blown away by how much I've learned!).

I've been keeping 2 goldfish outside in Zone 7 for 3 years. I initially started them in a 35 gallon outdoor mini pond which I didn't know at the time was too small for them. I got into this hobby mostly by way of gardening and my initial set up had a lotus, hornwort, a few marginals and duckweed. The plants and the two teeny comet goldfish thrived.

The next year, I upgraded my fish to a 50 gallon planter which they've been living in for the past 2 years now. They've both grown to about 10 inches from nose to tip of tail. Still heavily planted but now with cold hardy plants like North American frogbit, hornwort, and for marginals, horsetail rush, obedient plant, marsh marigold and a hardy water lily. There's a couple of solar fountains for aeration hooked to a rudimentary plant filter and I do 75% water changes weekly.

I am interested in scaling up my stock tank again next spring (hopefully for the last time...) in order to expand my gardening and also because based on what I've been reading here, for the welfare of my fish.

My restrictions are I live in an urban area and a lot of common fishkeeping/gardening supplies are not available in home improvement stores (things like oyster grit for increasing hardness or even large size stock tanks) unless I want to pay a large amount in shipping. I also don't have electricity outdoors and most of the land in my 1000 sq ft garden is accounted for.

I'm trying to figure out the best way to set up my new stock tank pond to avoid my previous mistakes and not make new ones. 

Right now, I'm leaning towards the rubbermaid 300 gallon so I can have a lot of water gardening space.