Fraying fins... is it the BN pleco?

bmblsad

Hey all...I am a newbie fish keeper. I have an 3-4 inch oranda (purchased in May) who has been the picture of health until this week when I noticed his fins starting to fray. I don't know why or what to do. I have API aquarium salt but no meds - however, can easily get them today from LFS.  I also have a 5.5g tank that I could use as a hospital tank temporarily if needed though it seems really small.

Here are the answers to some key questions. 

PS - it's been a rough month; my MIL died 2 weeks ago after a brief illness so my fishkeeping habits have been unbalanced (feeding and lighting schedules off, water changes done hastily and off schedule, etc, throughout most of October)

What symptoms are you noticing, and when did the symptoms start?
Fins beginning to fray
3 days ago; progressing rapidly; thought I was imagining it at first.

How big is your tank?
29g planted with anubia, swords, 2 crypts, 2 morimo balls; sand substrate

How long has the tank been set up?
July; it was an upgrade from a 15g; moved cycled Fluval AQ70 filter from 15 to 29g. Heated to 74. Use airstone.

How many fish and what kinds of fish do you have in your tank?
1 oranda: Barney
1 BN pleco: P-Lucky
1 nirite: Luiz
1 mystery snail: Boris

Am I overstocked?

How often do you do water changes, and how much water at a time?
30-50% weekly; yesterday 50%; the week before 30%.

Have you cleaned or replaced anything in your filter?
Squeeze out filter sponges every week
Emptied and wiped down filter 2 weeks ago

What are your water parameters for Ammonia, Nitrite, Nitrate, and pH? (Please give numerical values; "fine", "good", "normal", etc are not readings and will make it difficult to help you. If you do not have a test kit please say so.)
I use API Master Test kit + API GH and KH liquid test solutions; following readings were prior to water change last night