Sign in to follow this  
Marlene

Need help!

Hello! I'm new to this so I apologize if I am not doing this correctly. I have 2 comet goldfish which I have had for about 4 years. I have a 40 gal tank. I've been thinking about adding a new friend to their tank and well today was that day. Unfortunately, shame on me for not doing my research and trusting what I was told at the pet store. I was told that a Moor black fish would fit in just great since it was a goldfish. I noticed that at the time of feeding (flakes) my comets were a lot faster and my Moor was not as fast. That's when I did my research and discovered that their sight is not the best so they are a lot slower. The comets are not bullying my Moor but now I just feel terrible for putting him/her in that situation and I would hate to send it back to the pet store. Any suggestions? I'm thinking of continuing to feed my comets flakes and buying pellets for the Moor so that they can both eat. Any other tips would help! Should I just separate them? Also, since the Moor's sight is not that good, should the LED light on the tank stay on?  Thank you all!

Hi Marlene and welcome. Hope your moor is still doing ok.

I’ll give my two cents, and hopefully some more knowledgeable folks can pop in as well.

I wouldn’t recommend putting a fancy goldfish (ie fantails, moors, etc) in with single-tails for the reasons you’ve unfortunately had to learn the hard way! The fancies are typically slower, more delicate than comets (and also more expensive). Because of the sizes that comets can reach, I wouldn’t typically recommend them for strict indoor keeping. They do great in ponds and, boy, do they GROW.

Unfortunately I’m using my phone right now so I can’t produce links, but there are wonderful resources on this website to get you sorted. Please take some time to go through the recommendations and threads, there is a wealth of knowledge here from very experienced keepers.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk