Sign in to follow this  
Guest Fishy

Good News!

Guest Fishy

Well after my shock of the adults killing my babies last Saturday, I have now had a pleasant surprise this morning. On Saturday I removed some 'newly laid' eggs from the tank and put them in a very small tank with a couple of inches of water. They just hatched out this morning! I counted about seven or eight, but there may well be more hiding under/around the plant.

I have no external aeration or filtration, but will be buying a pump/filter/airstone tomorrow. I am hoping that the plant will provide enough oxygen for the next 24 hours (please correct me if I am wrong).

Hopefully these babies have a bit more luck than their earlier brothers/sisters but at the same time I am concerned about how few there are. I guess that time will tell...

Guest Spacebux

congrats - im new to having goldie fry but mine have had babies too - they are all free swimming now- 5 days old - make sure you get a sponge filter and some liqufry food for them :panana

Guest Orandaman

Sounds like your off to a great start.

They will hide for the first few days.

After the 3rd day, they'll start looking for food.

If they won't eat, try live baby brine shrimp if you can find a seller.

Guest Fishy

Thanks for replying,

Congrats on your babies Spacebux. :)

My babies are only one and a half days old and swimming occasionally (only one casualty so far). I have bought some liquifry and some brine shrimp eggs. I increased the water to about three inches using airline as a syphon and I intend to put some more in tomorrow.

I have tested out the airstone in a bucket, but I think that it is too powerful for such a small tank (only 20cm X 13cm) I would like to put them in a bigger tank so I could use the airstone, but I am afraid to move them now in case I damage them.