setting up a planted betta tank

Emily McLaughlin

Hi all,

It has been forever it feels like since I last had fish, and I kept a single 10 gallon tank from my fish keeping days. I am wanting to set this up as a planted betta tank. I do have a few questions though and thought I'd ask here since this is the betta specific section.

First, what type of substrate should I count on for a planted betta tank? Should I go with sand or gravel or what type of substrate?

Second, with the tank being only 10 gallons, do you all have a recommended filter to use on the tank that wouldn't be too strong for a betta in that size of tank?

Lastly, what plants would you recommend? Should I  do low light, medium light or high light with the tank? Like I said, it has been way too long since I last kept fish and I've never done a real planted tank before but I would love to. I think a betta would probably love a planted tank. Thank you for any help.

• Admin

Hi all,

It has been forever it feels like since I last had fish, and I kept a single 10 gallon tank from my fish keeping days. I am wanting to set this up as a planted betta tank. I do have a few questions though and thought I'd ask here since this is the betta specific section.

:hi and :welcome

First, what type of substrate should I count on for a planted betta tank? Should I go with sand or gravel or what type of substrate?

If it was me I would use Sand. :) Betta's seem to like it better :)

Second, with the tank being only 10 gallons, do you all have a recommended filter to use on the tank that wouldn't be too strong for a betta in that size of tank?

I would go with the AC Filter 10. Then you can always put a baffle on it if its to strong :)