Sign in to follow this  
QandD

Fish People

You've heard of dog people, cat people (and I know many of you consider yourselves these people, too), and I would wager bird people--my father certainly is--but I was wondering what qualities would make a person a (gold)fish person. 

I ask because 1) I thought it would be interesting, and 2) my boyfriend teases me that keeping fish appropriately is like "nineteenth-century science, with all of the chemicals, measurements, and curiosities of managing species under water." He was being partly facetious, but I am wondering if he has a point. I'm not a scientist, but I know that many of you are. For my own part, though, I am a researcher and problem-solver, and it seems that fish-keeping often requires a bit of amateur (and sometimes bold) veterinary skills. Plus I have a massive number of allergies and have always liked little creatures, which I suppose contribute to why I like both fish and fish-helping. I also find myself attracted to the more mechanical habitat-building that you don't quite get to do with other animals. So maybe I am a control freak?

So what do you think makes for a fish person? Or particularly a goldfish person? And are you?

Edited by QandD

That is an interesting observation! I think the control/science thing (with a dash of veterinary skills) is definitely true for me; our goldfish keeping may have been instigated by my kids, but I've dabbled in fishkeeping before, & pets here have to be "mom approved" (because let's face it, who is "the buck stops here" person for kid's pets?)

I used to breed fancy poultry & pheasants (& sheep, goats & dogs) & there's a lot of control things, including setting up little environments/enclosures going on with that; plus a lot of DIY vet stuff. We live in the city now, so there's not the scope for critter keeping here, but the fish are nice, quiet creatures that don't bother the neighbors & need quite a bit of "fiddling with."