Help!

Guest hamstaman

Guest hamstaman

Ok i have a few questions that are all yes or no questions and sometimes short answer so please reply if you can help!! I have a 5 inch goldfish and 2 gold mystery snails in a 10 gallon tank , with plastic plants a filter and heater..

is checking ph important?and how do you check it?

is there such thing as too much calcium?(cuz the snails need it but will it harm the fish?)

do i need to check nitrates?how?

do i need to check ammonia?how?

how do i raise my ph?

how do i gain calcium in my tank?

is there anything else important i need to know cuz im new at this lol.. thanks

• Admin
Ok i have a few questions that are all yes or no questions and sometimes short answer so please reply if you can help!! I have a 5 inch goldfish and 2 gold mystery snails in a 10 gallon tank , with plastic plants a filter and heater..

is there such thing as too much calcium?(cuz the snails need it but will it harm the fish?)

how do i raise my ph?

is there anything else important i need to know cuz im new at this lol.. thanks

Always important, if there is a fluctation in the ph you can kill your fish very fast.

If you have hard water (GH another test) then your Snail would be fine in the water you have for it.

Yes,Test kit

Yes,Test kit

how do i raise my ph?

you dont need to mess with the Ph unless its in the 6.0 mark.

Coral Shells would do the trick. :D

Guest hamstaman

so if i use egg shells for the calcium i just leave them in the water??? what happens if there is too much calcium in the water??? the snail would be fiine but my fish would die wouldnt it?

Guest Rudolf

No your fish will not die.

I only use rainwater which has a Ph of 6.5. I have tried eggshell, both powdered and small pieces and found that the pieces of eggshell are still visible weeks afterwards so obviously eggshell does not dissolve rapidly.

I have a small piece of cuttlefish shell in each of my tanks.