Kordon Breathing Bags

Kate89

I've just accepted a job offer (yay!) in a town about an hour out of London, so we will be moving out there in the next 8 weeks.

Having never moved house with fish before, I was wondering what the best way of transporting them would be. It's only an hour drive, but add on any faffing at either end and realistically we're looking at the fish being out of their tank for 2-3 hours. Are Kordon Breathing Bags the best option on the market? Would it be best to transport them in these bags in a polystyrene box with a lid (which is how I collected several of my fish)?

Advice from anyone who has experienced moving with fish would be most welcome :)

Congratulations on the new job!

I have no experience moving with fish, but I have my fingers crossed everything will go smoothly for you.

An hour is a rather short journey. Bags are probably the most hassle free in terms of set and forget, but you could also put them in a bucket of water and baby them in the car. The sloshing should keep the water aerated. :)

An hour is a rather short journey. Bags are probably the most hassle free in terms of set and forget, but you could also put them in a bucket of water and baby them in the car. The sloshing should keep the water aerated. :)

Dan I don't like the sound of sloshing! Sounds like a recipe for disaster! (Well with baz's driving anyway... :lol)

Maybe bags would be best, I'm just finding the Kordon bags difficult to get hold of in the UK? And also what's the deal with bag size, is bigger better? 

I've moved my fish twice, each time it was a 6 hour drive plus about 1-2 hours of tank disassembly/assembly, so 2 hours should really not be a big deal.