Sign in to follow this  
Ambers_goldies

Eye bright red, appears blood filled

Hello, 

I am a new member here at kokos goldfish forum. I created this account because, well... I have made some big mistakes, and I need help! I'm a younger teenager, and I'm still fairly new to fish keeping. Though I've done countless hours of research, I thought I knew everything you could know. That is until I stupidly didn't put a screen on my siphon, and my new little oranda baby swam head first into the siphon. His eye popped out of the socket. I was in shock, so I filled up a 5gallon tub, put a small amount of aquarium salt in it, stress coat, and water conditioner. I put him in the tub, and he seemed to be in shock. I asked on my Instagram account "ambersgoldies" what to do. No one in the fish community had a clue. I now do not know if I made the right impulse decision, but as it appeared the optic nerve and vessels were still attached, I thought the eye had a chance, so I gently put it "back" into place. After that I have left it completely alone. At first, nothing changed. Then it started healing, and looking great. I was extremely happy. Then I noticed a little dot in his eye that appeared to be blood. It got bigger and bigger, and now it's around almost his whole eye. (Note I do not know for sure if it is blood, or swelling, or infection.) he is swimming around lively, and eating, and other than his eye, he looks healthy. I am doing 100% water changes daily. He is 2 1/2 inches. I have 2 questions, 1, what do you think the red is, and 2, what steps should I now take? Thank you so much. :) 

:hi and welcome

I'm guessing the red is blood.  If you could please fill out the following form as completely as possible.  A pic or two of the eye would be extremely helpful also.  :D

• Test Results for the Following:
    • * Ammonia Level(Tank)
    • * Nitrite Level(Tank)
    • * Nitrate level(Tank)
    • * Ammonia Level(Tap)
    • * Nitrite Level(Tap)
    • * Nitrate level(Tap)