Fluval U4 for a 50 gallon?

I'm brand new to fish and trying to put together my very first real setup. I bought a fluvial U4 underwater filter (34-65 gallon model, 260 gph) to put in the 50 gallon tank I'm getting next week. I also have a small external filter from the temporary 10 gallon tank that I have currently that I was thinking I'd stick on since it has some nice bacteria setting up shop in it that could help cycle the big tank. It's a tetra whisper 10-20 gallon, 105 gph, I don't expect it to do a ton cleaning-wise but I thought it might also help with surface disturbance since the main filter is internal.

Is this anywhere in the ballpark of okay filtration? I thought fluval was supposed to be a relatively good brand but I really just don't know that much about filters. I'm worried its not enough but I can't afford a huge $200 dollar filter, especially since my new arrivals are iffy health wise (they were unexpected rescues currently being treated for flukes, ammonia burns, and who knows what else :0) and may not live long enough to justify an extremely expensive setup. Although an upgrade will probably be possible down the road if they pull through. I got the U4 for about $66 on sale from amazon, If the U4 isn't good enough I could return it and spring for a slightly pricier one?

Anyway, thoughts would be very much appreciated. 

I'm brand new to fish and trying to put together my very first real setup. I bought a fluvial U4 underwater filter (34-65 gallon model, 260 gph) to put in the 50 gallon tank I'm getting next week. I also have a small external filter from the temporary 10 gallon tank that I have currently that I was thinking I'd stick on since it has some nice bacteria setting up shop in it that could help cycle the big tank. It's a tetra whisper 10-20 gallon, 105 gph, I don't expect it to do a ton cleaning-wise but I thought it might also help with surface disturbance since the main filter is internal.