My baby orandas:)

Hi,my name is Katerina and I'm from Greece.About 6 days ago I went at the Pet Store to take food for my Yorkshire and eventually I left the shop with these two baby orandas!!!I want to tell you that I have no experience in fish so I think I have made some mistakes with their tank as it is only 40L,but I am going to buy a bigger one so they will be much more comfortable!!!

(sorry for my English)

IMG_20150331_115153_zpshzupcqig.jpg

IMG_20150331_115338_zpsqu5kcev9.jpg

DSC_1287_zps53gfuj1r.jpg

I haven't found a name for them yet so I would appreciate it if you could help me:)

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

It helps to have a test kit like the API Master kit, but with two fish in a 40 litre, I would do a full water change several times a week.  

For example, I have one large fish in a 144 litre with 3 snails.  I change 90% every weekend.  I have experimented, and let the tank go, testing every day after day 7.  By the 10-12th day, the tank shows very high nitrates. Truthfully, I have weak filtration and am saving up for a larger filter (bigger tank too, as I have a very small fish in a 60 litre that I would like to put together with the bigger fish at some time). 

Goldfish are messy, and it is always a balance between adequate filtration, space and water changes :)

Edited by motherredcap

I would remove all rocks from the bottom.  That well give space for a little more water and I would test the water daily and do water changes as needed.

You picked out some very pretty goldfish.

Edited by Hidr

It's actually a really thin layer of rocks, that's why I planted the anubia into the jar.

Thank you,they are really cute and sociable [emoji7]

:hi  A couple of cautions about gravel:

1) It can harbor detritus which can foul your tank water and provide a breeding ground for pathogens.

2) It can become stuck in a Goldfish's mouth, digestive tract, etc.