Hello--but a somewhat melancholy greeting

QandD

Hi all,

I'm excited to join this forum, since my real-world friends think I'm crazy for liking goldfish.

I'm a poor graduate student who has been keeping goldfish for 7 years after rescuing a fish from my boyfriend, who seemed completely content to do fish-in cycles (he didn't know what a cycle was, admittedly) and told me that "fish just die sometimes" when I expressed concern about 3 out of 4 juveniles dying within a month of living in a new 10-gallon tank. So I started doing research and fell for Queenie, my first fish.

This is sad, but she just died a couple of days ago. I suppose I also joined the forum since other people don't understand why I am upset about losing her. In the last 2 years of her life she had had some health problems due to power outages killing my biofilter (Hurricane Sandy left me without power for a week and the water got down to 50 degrees). Then, I had to totally recycle the tank AGAIN after some live plants led to a columnaris breakout. She was a fighter and a beautiful white fantail, and I miss her very much.

Her friend, Duchess, is currently living alone in my 29-gallon tank. She is 5.5 years old and seems healthy. She is also white with a few orange spots on her body and tail. She has been spending the past few days looking around the tank for Queenie, and then looking at me, and then circling around again. I've added new plants to the tank with the hope that they will keep her busy eventually.

I am planning to get D a new friend soon, since I don't know how long goldfish will be happy living alone. I don't want her to become even more stressed with loneliness. 

Sorry for the melancholy elements of this post, but I am grateful to have found the forum.